Uncategorized

How to iron linen

No matter how much you press and steam sometimes that linen shirt still looks like it has been sitting on a floor somewhere. We live in a warm climate and my husband lives in linen shirts so it was starting to drive me a bit mad when the shirts never looked fully ironed despite all the time and effort I put in.

I was told a few times that linen doesn’t crease. I discovered that the opposite is true. I’m not sure why this is.

Photo by Airin Party on Pexels.com

I read a ton of blogs, lists and watched a few videos made by people who ran laundry services or had lots of children to wash for. Here are the tips I learned that really helped.

Always follow the care instructions on the label of your garment.

  • Keep a spray bottle of clean water next to you as you iron and spray the fabric before running the iron over it. I saw an almost instant improvement by ironing damp linen as opposed to dry. You can also iron them when they are 90% dry from washing.
  • Iron linen garments inside out
  • Put your iron on the hottest setting with steam turned on (so if you had it turned off to put iron on labels on things, now is the time to check)
  • Don’t let linen sit in the basket wet for too long before hanging. If you can’t get to the laundry today, pull out the linens and drape them somewhere to get the drying process started.
  • After ironing, hang on a clothes hanger or drape them over a chair or indoor line. Dresses and bedding is more forgiving but shirts will crease up again if you fold them back into a basket.